Gluten Free Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Makes 16-18 muffins

Prep time: 20 minutes

Bake time: 10-20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 Cup chopped apples (skin on)
  • 1 Tbsp. buckwheat flour (or any other GF flour should be fine!)
  • 1/4 Cup mashed banana (or unsweetened applesauce)
  • ½ Cup liquid sweetener – I used ¼ C agave, and ¼ C maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup GF flour mix + 1 tsp xanthan gum*
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 Cup oats
  • 3/4 Cup Light or fat-free sour cream/ plain yogurt/ or soft tofu with 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice

* I sometimes whip up my own with the flours I have on hand. The last time I used: 1/4 C white rice flour, 1/4 arrowroot flour, 1/2 C sorghum flour, 1 large tsp xanthan gum, and they turned out great!

Separate mixing bowls

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Grease muffin tin(s) – I fill the cups ¾ full and it made 12 regular and 9 mini muffins.

1. In small bowl, toss apples with 1 Tbsp of buckwheat flour. Set aside.
2. In a larger bowl, combine applesauce or mashed banana and sweeteners. Add eggs and mix well. Add vanilla.
3. In a smaller bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt & cinnamon. Mix well and add to the liquids in the larger bowl. Add sour cream & oats, stirring after each addition. Fold in apples – be careful not to overmix!
4. Spoon into prepared muffin tin, filling 3/4 full. Fill any remaining cups 1/2 full of water. Bake in preheated oven for about 8 minutes for mini muffins and 15 minutes for regular muffins! Depending on your oven, you may want to go 2-3 minutes more.

For gluten free muffins, these are pretty darn good!

Since Pauline is pretty much doing a sugar and dairy free diet (except greek yogurt), I had to modify my previous recipe to sugar alternatives. I forgot until I had cooked my muffins for 20 minutes (as I had previously with my recipe including sugar) that maple syrup makes baked goods brown FAST.

Yes, my first batch of regular sized muffins were a bit burnt. However, with a little butter… the flavour is reminiscent of cinnamon raisin toast on the fire – a favourite of mine while camping!

I greatly reduced the time for the minis as indicated in the recipe and they worked out perfectly!

The mini muffins!

Leave a Reply

