Pangea Coconut Curry Soup

Almost 10 years ago, before my days of being excited about creative food, I had the most delicious soup of my life while visiting Ashland, Oregon. I wonder if I went back to visit this cafe now whether or not I would find it as amazing as I remember. Regardless, I wanted to be able to make it myself. Time passed and my favourite flavours developed – including, as you know, Thai curry, and coconut cream.

Last year, I randomly put together some of my favourite ingredients, and much to my delight, the outcome was so much like the soup I remember from the cafe in Ashland. If you ever go to Ashland, please check out the cafe called Pangea on Main street. I went back and had the same soup (Coconut Curried Yam) twice in the 4 days I was there!

I made my version last night and promised to post it for Pauline whom I am living with. I told her that she will be able to make it when I am gone with the red curry paste I leave behind!

Pangea coconut curry soup with local spelt seed bread

Pangea coconut curry soup with local spelt seed bread

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium red onion, sliced or chopped
  • 2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1/2 sweet potato or yam, chopped (keep the skin on)
  • 1/4 C. coconut cream
  • 1-2 tbsp red curry paste (or to taste if you want it spicier!)
  • 1 1/4 C red lentils, rinsed
  • 1/2 roasted butternut squash, skin removed (you can really use any type of squash or pumpkin you have on hand, or just double your yams if you don’t have squash)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 C.  vegetable broth
  • 1-2 C. water

Method

  1. Heat oil over med. heat and saute onions with a wooden spoon until soft. (When I make this next time, I think I will just use a tablespoon of the coconut cream for sauteing the onions – less ingredients = more simple!)
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients except the broth & water, and continue to saute until fragrant. It doesn’t really matter what order you follow with your ingredients. I like that because then I can still be prepping, chopping my yams etc. while it has already started to cook!
  3. Add broth/water. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until everything is soft. Puree in a blender in portions or use a hand blender if you have one!

I hope you enjoy this as much as my 18-year-old self did in Oregon!

Leave a Reply

